Roger Crouch Award Recipients

In 2006 Roger showed up at a TSPRA event. He had never been on a bull before, but he was 100% Cowboy for sure. Roger found a new passion in his life, rodeo.

He had shown his toughness several times, one time breaking his leg in the bucking chute and still nodded for the gate. The second time breaking his pelvis and he was able to walk into the hospital of his own will. Later he would show the ultimate and Cowboy toughness. 

In 2009 we started the WSPBR, where Roger was one of the original members.   Being new at bull riding did not hold him back.   His character and his toughness were beyond reproach. February 2011, he had become the president of the WSPBR, and very well respected by his peers.   At the first rodeo that year, Roger Crouch broke his neck and was resuscitated in the arena by Troy Mosley and Dan Arnold, they kept him alive for over 20 minutes before the ambulance could get there. He was put into an induced coma, until his family could arrive in Temple, Texas from Arkansas.

This is when the ultimate toughness and faith came in to play for all to see. When they told him that he was paralyzed from the neck down and he would be on a ventilator he asked them to unplug, and he’ll go see Jesus.  There was not a dry eye in the hospital.

His display of character and toughness personifies what Cowboys are.  He never had a bad word to say about anyone.   He was confident in who he was, and a better man has not graced the association since. 

We are grateful to present a buckle each year to the member that best represents all that Roger was.   Roger may have left us, but his memory will live on through each of these recipients. God speed Roger.

2022 – DeDee Crawford

2021 – Larry Boyanton

2020 – Kerry Meuir

2019 – Gary Johns

2018 – Chris Kirby

2017 – Dean Schoolcraft

2016 – Heath Forinash

2015 – Charky Marquis

2014 – Johnny Henricks

2013 – Marty Boyd

2012 – Marty Sitzmann

2011 – Kenneth Goolsby